If you’re wondering how to close a Facebook business page, you’re in the right place. We’ll walk you through the steps to take to make sure your page is properly shut down.
Checkout this video:
Why you might want to close your Facebook business page
There may come a time when you need to close your Facebook business page. Perhaps your business is changing direction and you no longer need a presence on Facebook, or maybe you’re closing down altogether. Whatever the reason, it’s important to know how to properly close your page so that you don’t accidentally leave any loose ends hanging.
When you close a Facebook business page, all of the content on the page (posts, photos, etc.) will be permanently deleted. You will also lose any followers that you have built up. So, if you think there’s any chance that you might want to use the page again in the future, it’s probably best not to close it.
If, however, you’re certain that you want to close your page, here’s what you need to do:
1. Go to your page and click on the settings icon in the top right-hand corner.
2. From the drop-down menu that appears, select “Edit Page.”
3. Scroll down to the bottom of the resulting page and click on “Remove Page.”
4. Confirm that you want to delete the page by clicking “Delete [Page Name].”
5. Once your page has been deleted, it cannot be recovered, so make sure that this is really what you want to do before proceeding!
How to deactivate your Facebook business page
If you’re an admin of a Facebook Page for your business, you can deactivate your Page at any time. When you deactivate your Page, it won’t be visible to the public, but keep in mind that Information about your Page may still be visible to others, including people who have a relationship with your Page or business.
Before you deactivate your Page:
– Remove any apps that are installed on your Page.
– Unpublish any apps that are connected to your Page.
– Delete any posts that you don’t want people to see before you deactivate your Page.
– Remove any connected Instagram accounts.
– Download a copy of information from your Page.
To deactivate your Page:
1) ClickSettings at the top of your Page.
2) From General, clickManage page roles.
3) To the right of each person listed as a page role, click and select Remove.
4) Click Edit next to Name and deselect the option to Keep me as an admin so I can manage jobs.
5) Click Save Changes, then clickDeactivate [Page name]. A message will appear asking if you’re sure you want to proceed since this action is permanent.
6) If you want to download information from your page before you proceed: Click Request Download after Step 5 above, enter the email where the link should be sent, then click Send Email. After Facebook sends the request, click Download Archive after it appears on screen (it can take up to 48 hours for Facebook to generate this). If don’t want to download information from your page before deactivation: Skip Step 6 above and go directly to Step 7 below and click Deactivate [Page name].
How to delete your Facebook business page
Deleting your Facebook business page is a permanent action that can’t be reversed. If you have a page with many likes and want to keep the information and engagements, you can unpublish your page instead. This will hide your page from the public, but you’ll be able to retrieve it later if you change your mind.
To delete your Facebook business page:
1. Go to your business page and click About in the left column.
2. Under General, click Remove Page.
3. Click Delete [Page name].
4. Click Delete Page and then click OK.
What happens when you deactivate or delete your Facebook business page
When you deactivate your page, it means that your page will no longer be visible to the public. However, all of your page’s information (including posts, photos, and likes) will still be stored on Facebook in case you decide to reactivate your page in the future.
If you delete your page, it means that your page and all of its information will be permanently removed from Facebook. Once a page is deleted, it cannot be recovered.
How to back up your data before deactivating or deleting your Facebook business page
If you called it quits on your business or you’re just ready to start fresh with a new page, you may be wondering how to close a Facebook business page. But before you do, it’s important to back up your data. This way, you’ll have a record of all your posts, insights and Page information.
To download a copy of your Facebook Page:
1. Go to your business page
2. Click on the three dots in the top right-hand corner
3. Select ‘Settings’ from the drop-down menu
4. Click ‘Request Page Archive’ in the ‘General’ section
5. Facebook will then begin creating an archive of your Page data which you can download once it’s ready
How to transfer ownership of your Facebook business page
As the administrator of a Facebook business page, you may need to transfer ownership of the page to another person at some point. This could be for many reasons, such as if you’re no longer working for the company, or if you’re moving on to a new role within the company that doesn’t involve managing the page.
Whatever your reason for wanting to transfer ownership, it’s a relatively simple process. Here’s how to do it:
1. Go to your business page and click on the “Settings” icon in the top-right corner.
2. In the left-hand menu, click on “Page Roles.”
3. Under “Assign a New Page Role,” start typing in the name or email address of the person you want to transfer ownership to. Select them from the drop-down menu when they appear.
4. In the “Role” drop-down menu next to their name, select “Administrator.”
5. Click “Add.”
6. Confirm by clicking “OK.”
The person you’ve transferred ownership to will now be able to manage your Facebook business page just like you could before.
Frequently asked questions about closing a Facebook business page
Q: What Happens if I Delete My Page?
A: If you delete your page, it will no longer be accessible to anyone on Facebook. All information associated with your page, including posts, photos, and messages, will be permanently deleted.
Q: How Do I Delete My Page?
A: To delete your page, go to the settings menu and select “Delete Page.” You will be asked to confirm your decision to delete the page. Once you confirm, the page will be permanently deleted.
Q: Can I Still Use My Business Tools if I Delete My Page?
A: No. Once your page is deleted, you will no longer have access to any of the tools or features associated with it. This includes things like Insights, ads, and boosting posts.
Tips for closing your Facebook business page
There are a few things to consider before you close your Facebook business page. For example, you’ll want to download a copy of your page’s information, like your posts and reviews.
If you have more than 200 likes on your page, you’ll also need to assign a new page admin before you close your page. Only an admin can close a Facebook business page.
To close your Facebook business page:
1. Go to your Page and click Settings in the top right.
2. From General, click Remove Page.
3. Click Delete [Page name].
4. Click Delete Page and enter your password to continue.
Alternatives to closing your Facebook business page
There are a few alternatives to closing your Facebook business page. You can unpublished your page, meaning that only admins will be able to see and access the page. To unpublished your page:
1. Click Settings at the top of your Page
2. From General, click Edit next to Page Visibility
3. Select Page Unpublished
4. Click Save Changes
Another alternative is to delete your page. This action is permanent and cannot be undone. Before you delete your page, you may want to consider downloading a copy of your information for backup purposes. To delete your page:
1. Click Settings at the top of your Page
2. From General, click Remove Page
3. Click Delete [Page name]
4. Click Delete Page
If you have multiple Pages, you’ll need to repeat this process for each one.
How to reactivate your Facebook business page
If you’ve deactivated your Facebook business page, but want to reactive it, there are a few easy steps you can follow. First, log into your personal Facebook account. Next, go to the settings menu for your business page (it’ll be under the “more” tab). From there, you can select the “Reactivate Page” option. Once you do that, your page will be live again!